Reviews

Leesa Bright posting on OldSchool.info

I love this podcast. The topics are relevant to listeners younger and older. It’s got me thinking about our language and views as a society and looking into my next 40 years. The variety is wonderful; from genetics to fashion and workplace to community. I’m a binge listener and can often be found grabbing an hour to listen to as many as I can.

Leesa Bright, Cape Town, RSA, April 16th 2019

Sharon Ely posting on OldSchool.info

I’ve learnt so much in such a short time listening to Susan’s enquiries of her broad range of guests who each have a different and equally fascinating point of engagement with ageing and ageism, it’s been an efficient and enjoyable route to a broad perspective on the challenges and opportunities that has made me feel very positive about the future.

Sharon Ely February 26, 2019

A clear signal in a world full of noise

I just heard Susan’s interview of Jonathan Rauch. I was struck immediately by the depth with which she engages with her subjects and by her deep curiosity as a listener. Unlike the bravado common to so many others in the podcasting universe, Susan leads with a marked willingness to be still and vulnerable and real. Thank you, Susan, for who you are as much as what you do.

Adrian Juric via Apple Podcasts ·Canada ·12/13/2018

Fab topics

Fab topics for those in and approaching their silver years! Great contributors interviewed by a first class journalist. Keep up the good work!

IvoriesDan via Apple Podcasts ·Great Britain ·10/19/2019

Excellent insight into midlife and Susan Flory rocks

Stumbled upon this podcast after doing research and very impressed by the title and what to expect as we get older. Susan is an excellent communicator and interviewer.

strongcurves from USA on April 17, 2019

Terrific podcast about midlife matters

I highly recommend this entertaining and informative podcast from Susan Flory on issues we face in midlife. Susan is a wonderful, inquisitive broadcaster and gets great guests on the subject. Have a listen!

Richard Eisenberg, Managing Editor, Nextavenue.org mr.right. via Apple Podcasts ·United States of America ·11/27/2018

The podcast I didn’t know I needed to listen to

In the beginning, the topic of aging and age discrimination made me anxious. I’m approaching the time in my career when it could be a problem. But this podcast changes everything! It presents a positive spin on aging. There’s always something new and interesting to learn. Presenter Susan Flory is delightful, insightful and clearly passionate about the subject matter. I can’t recommend this podcast enough. Listen, subscribe, review. You won’t be disappointed!

sammie :] via Apple Podcasts ·Australia ·02/24/2019

Must Listen!

Great podcast. Thoughtful and inspiring. The topic is timely and crucially important for those of all ages to give a listen. Dismantling ageism will be an intergenerational and intersectional collaboration. Susan does a great job curating the best voices tackling this huge issue.

Crone in Training via Apple Podcasts ·United States of America ·12/08/2018

My favourite podcast in the midlife space

You can tell that Susan Flory is a broadcasting pro. On her podcast “The Big Middle”, she interviews thought leaders with a unique perspective on midlife and positive ageing, she shares deep and stimulating conversations, she makes it easy to stay tuned for the entire episode. On top of it all, Susan has a beautiful, soothing voice. Her podcast is one of my absolute favourites and I look forward to every single episode.

Ruth Winden via Apple Podcasts ·Great Britain 12/10/2018

US Social Gerontologist Jeanette Leardi posting on OldSchool.info

As someone who was just a guest on The Big Middle podcast, I can unequivocally state that Susan Flory is an expert interviewer. First of all, she does her homework in advance and thoroughly researches each guest’s interests and efforts. Secondly, she is a careful listener, reflecting back important points and enhancing them. Thirdly, she cares about both her interviewee and her audience, making sure that the pace and flow of the interaction allow for the inclusion of as many important insights as can fit in the designated time frame. And finally, she seeks out those experts who can offer a wide range of provocative perspectives on the “Big Middle” period of the modern lifespan. Her podcast is simply one of the best around.

Jeanette Leardi, March 22, 2019

Wonderful and Important

Susan’s interview of Jonathan Rauch was superb. Thoughtful, incisive questioning coupled with exquisite listening and mastery of silence. What really made it superb was her own willingness to be vulnerable on the topic of ageism. I’ll be listening to a lot more of her in the future. Thank you Susan!

Therapist/film-maker via Apple Podcasts ·Canada 12/14/2018

Listen up!

Longer lives are here to stay, a global demographic shift that will affect every corner of our lives, from how we work & play to how we stay healthy, engaged, and visible. Journalist Susan Flory chooses well and does her homework, making The Big Middle required listening for any smart person interested in this tectonic shift in human relations.

Ashton Applewhite, anti-ageism activist, NYC, USA • June 10, 2019

Essential listening and learning

“I’ve done dozens of podcasts and Susan’s remains one of my absolute favorites. I love her perspective. She is reframing the discussion on what it means to be an older adult. Her questions are thoughtful and provocative. She senses what people really want to know (and maybe are afraid to ask). She creates the space for her guests to be candid, to really say what’s on their minds. You feel like she’s sitting with you in your living room. Listening to her podcast is a real treat.”

Elizabeth White, aging solutions advocate, Washington DC, USA, July 29, 2019

Important Explorations in Getting to be Older

The Big Middle helps to fill a gaping void in the media when it comes to discourse around aging before old(er) age. We are all getting older, so why are so few people talking about it? We need to pay more attention to how we think about aging and where those thoughts come from. Susan Flory does a great job addressing this by exposing the ageism lurking behind every corner of our culture. Her guests are thoughtful, passionate, knowledgeable- and most importantly entertaining. She really does a great job exploring this uncharted territory with them.

Ryan Backer via Apple Podcasts ·United States of America ·12/07/2018

The Big Middle

Love this Podcast series, it’s relevant and concerns us all either now or at some point in the future, Susan is raw and self exposing in her interviews which makes us feel a whole lot better about ourselves..highly recommend you listen in!

Suisseaussie via Apple Podcasts ·Switzerland ·10/10/2018

LATEST EPISODE